Unbelievable Generosity #4

Wow.

I can’t say it enough, I can’t stress it enough. I can’t mean it enough.

Since telling people about my challenge, I’ve appealed for various items or nights stay. However, repeatedly I’ve been looking for a camper van as my support vehicle. I wanted a camper van so I had somewhere to change if Cumbrian weather lives up to its usual self; for a rub down if my legs hurt after 30 miles over the fells with five to go; for a moving toilet; for somewhere to get hot food / cold drink etc etc.

Moss Motorhome Hire are the amazing, incredible, generous and spectacular people who have stepped up and offered me a camper van. Yep, you heard me.

They are lending us a SIX BERTH camper van for a nominal fee for insurance purposes. Steve and Sarah Vandome took less than an hour to respond to my plea for help and immediately offer their support.

Meet Steve, Sarah and their beloved border collie Fly: IMG_20160807_120709282

Not only are they lending us eh van for my challenge, but they have agreed to let us pick it up on the Saturday to practice driving it around, and drop it back on the Monday – to save extra driving on the Sunday of the GNR.

Thanks to this wonderful south Cumbrian couple – who I have never met – I even have somewhere to stay on the nights where we haven’t managed to sort accommodation. I’m so grateful, I did a special article dedicated just to them, here.

Look at this beauty:

Asked why they were helping, Steve said.

“We started the company after buying our first motorhome to travel to Europe after Sarah, now 35, was diagnosed with cancer – something she has been fighting ever since.

“We enjoyed travelling in the motorhome so much with our border collie Fly, we decided to start a motorhome hire company which was dog-friendly and didn’t charge for family pets.

“After being contacted by Emily, we had no hesitation in offering our six-berth motorhome to help her in her incredibly tough challenge to support Rachel.

“This cause is very close to our hearts, as we have both also previously completed the Great North Run to raise money for Cancer Research, Macmillan Cancer Support and the Brain Tumour Charity.

“We lost a dear family friend Frank, who lived in Newcastle, to a brain tumour in 2012.

“We wish both Emily and Rachel the best of luck.”

It is people like Steve and Sarah who remind you how far reaching cancer and brain tumours really are, and just how kind and generous people really can be.

E x

Leave a Reply

